Engineering Council Registration

You are here: IFE » Engineering Council Registration

Engineering Council Registration

The engineering profession in the United Kingdom is regulated by the Engineering Council through engineering institutions that are licensed to put suitably qualified persons on the Engineering Council’s Register of Engineers. The Register has three sections:

The IFE is a licensed member of the Engineering Council and can register those members that meet the necessary criteria as Chartered Engineers (CEng), Incorporated Engineers (IEng) or Engineering Technicians (EngTech).

Applicants for registration are required to satisfy the competence standards set by Engineering Council and laid down in UK-SPEC (UK Standard for Professional Engineering Competence). Interim registration is also possible for applicants who have met the educational standards for registration but who have not yet gained the experience to satisfy the professional competences for full registration.

There are two routes to membership. The Standard route (for applicants with exemplifying qualifications as defined by Engineering Council and the Individual Route (for all other applicants). The route that an Applicant will follow will be identified after receipt of his/her application.

Registration and annual fees are collected by the IFE annually on behalf of the Engineering Council and, following receipt of the initial registration fee, the applicant’s details are added to the relevant section of the Engineering Council register. Following this, registrants are provided with a registration number by the Engineering Council.

Benefits of Membership and Engineering Council Registration:

How do I apply?

To be registered with the Engineering Council you must be in current membership of the IFE. If you are not in membership at the time of your EC application then your application will be considered for IFE membership concurrently.

Applicants who successfully apply for registration and who are not existing members at the appropriate level will be awarded the following IFE grades: